top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Pierre-Louis

Why I had to Buy a Ringlight


I’m not the biggest fashion person. Don’t get it twisted, ya girl gets busy when it’s time for the glitz and glam but on the regular; a washed face and brushed teeth are about all the “look” I’m going to give...or at least they were.

In trying to get my social media game together I’ve been made painfully aware that I have to be ready to stand and deliver at all times. I recently hired a social media strategist to make some graphics for me and they asked me for 3-5 of my favorite professional photos. I had zero. Luckily, one of my good girlfriends used to be a photographer for a large news outlet and she dusted off her camera to do an impromptu shoot for me. After the shoot we were going through my images and she asked to see my social media profiles and told me that I needed to get a ring light so I can get proper lighting for my photos. I hated the idea. It seemed so...self-absorbed. But if I want my business to be this grand empire that I envision for myself; I have to manifest it in every way; including my day to day look and social media footprint. It doesn’t mean I’m going to be doing photo shoots every week (sidenote: modeling is HARD), but it does mean that I’m going to start putting on some mascara and lip gloss and have my ring light handy for any potential photo opportunities. Annoying? ABSOLUTELY. But this business is my dream, my passion, and my driving force. I’m going to do what it takes to give my company a fair shot in these business streets.

Being an entrepreneur means getting comfortable doing things you might not really like or think don’t matter...like the paperwork. But if you’re serious about building your business, you’ll do what it takes to make sure that you are legitimate so you can go for those big opportunities when they come. If you need help getting your business paperwork together, email me at nplconsultingfirm@gmail.com. Til next time!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page